Certificate of European Studies

The Certificate of European Studies (CES) is a university degree awarded at the end of a semester of study at Sciences Po Strasbourg. The curriculum is taught exclusively in English and aims to allow students who speak little or no French to have access to a top-level education in a French « Grande Ecole » (elite university).

Focusing on Europe from a global perspective, the Certificate of European Studies combines lectures, small-group tutorials, field trips and educational visits while introducing students to the French language and culture.

Thanks to the long-standing partnership between Sciences Po Strasbourg and the European institutions (European Parliament, Council of Europe, etc.), CES students have a unique opportunity to gain both theoretical and practical knowledge of Europe from the very heart of its capital.

Open to exchange students and free movers

This diploma is intended for international students, enrolled in a university abroad with an aim to obtain a degree and having the equivalent of at least two semesters (i.e. 60 ECTS credits) validated in their home university, preferably, but not necessarily, in the following fields : Law, Economics, Political Science, International Relations and Contemporary History.

The CES is targeted at students with little or no French language skills (A1-A2), but proof of advanced command of English is necessary (B2 in English required).

The Certificate of European Studies is open to both exchange students coming from partner universities and to free movers (non-exchange students).

 

Organization of the study program

The Certificate of European Studies can be taken first or second semester.

The program begins, each semester, with an intensive French course.

During the semester, students must take French language courses, 4 compulsory courses related to Europe (depending on the semester: History of European integration, Political Sociology of Europe, Cultural Policy in Europe, The EU and the World Economy, etc.) and a seminar coupled with pedagogical visits to the European institutions. In addition, they choose 2 optional courses and participate in a field trip (Frankfurt, Brussels, Luxembourg ...).

For further details, please see the CES brochure with course descriptions for first semester and for second semester.

First semester, the program begins at the beginning of September; courses and exams are completed before the Christmas holidays.

Second semester, the program begins at the beginning of January; courses and exams are completed at the end of May.

 

How to apply

  • Your home university has an exchange agreement with Sciences Po Strasbourg (Erasmus+ agreement or bilateral agreement) or with the University of Strasbourg (exchange agreement for universities outside Europe only) : you must be selected by your home university.
  • Your home university does not have an exchange agreement, neither with Sciences Po Strasbourg nor with the University of Strasbourg: you will have to pay a registration fee of €1390.
  • The application procedure and schedule for the next sessions of the Certificate of European Studies are available here :
  • 2022/23 Semestre 1
  • 2022/23 Semestre 2

Certificate of European Studies

Le  Certificate of European Studies  est un diplôme d’université délivré à l’issue d’un semestre d’études à Sciences Po Strasbourg. L’enseignement est délivré exclusivement en anglais et a pour but de permettre à des étudiants qui ne parlent pas ou peu le français d’avoir accès à un parcours de formation d’excellence au sein d’une Grande Ecole à la française.

Centré sur l’Europe dans une perspective globale, le Certificate of European Studies combine cours magistraux, « conférences de méthodes » (TD), voyages d’études et visites pédagogiques tout en familiarisant les étudiants avec la langue et la culture française.

Grâce au partenariat qui unit de longue date Sciences Po Strasbourg et les institutions européennes (Parlement européen, Conseil de l’Europe…), les étudiants du Certificate of European Studies auront ainsi une occasion unique d’acquérir une compréhension à la fois théorique et pratique de l’Europe en vivant et en étudiant au cœur de sa capitale.

Public concerné : Etudiants internationaux en échange ou hors échange

Ce diplôme s’adresse aux étudiants internationaux, inscrits dans une université à l’étranger en vue de l’obtention d’un diplôme et ayant validé dans leur université d’origine l’équivalent de deux semestres au minimum (soit 60 crédits ECTS), de préférence, mais non obligatoirement, dans les champs disciplinaires suivants : Droit, Economie, Science politique, Relations internationales et Histoire contemporaine.

Les étudiants doivent attester de leur niveau de maîtrise de la langue anglaise (niveau B2 minimum). Aucune compétence particulière n’est requise en français ; le CES s’adresse en priorité à des étudiants de niveau débutant ou intermédiaire en français (A1-A2).

Le Certificate of European Studies peut être suivi par des étudiants venant dans le cadre d’un échange entre leur université et Sciences Po Strasbourg ou par des étudiants hors échange.

Le nombre maximum d'étudiants pouvant s'inscrire à ce programme est de 25, afin de garantir la qualité de l'interaction entre les étudiants et les enseignants.

Organisation du programme d’études

Le Certificate of European Studies peut être suivi au semestre 1 ou au semestre 2.

Le programme commence, chaque semestre, par un stage intensif de français.

Durant le semestre, les étudiants suivent obligatoirement des cours de langue française, 4 cours obligatoires en lien avec l’Europe (selon les semestres : History of European integration, Political Sociology of Europe, Cultural Policy in Europe, The EU and the World Economy, etc.) et un séminaire couplé à des visites pédagogiques des institutions européennes. En outre, ils choisissent 2 cours optionnels et participent à un voyage d’étude (Francfort, Bruxelles, Luxembourg…).

Pour plus de détails, consultez la plaquette du CES et les descriptifs de cours pour le semestre 1 ou le semestre 2.

Au premier semestre, le stage commence tout début septembre ; cours et examens sont terminés avant les vacances de Noël. Au deuxième semestre, le stage commence début janvier ; cours et examens sont terminés fin mai.

Comment candidater ?

  • Votre université d’origine dispose d’un accord d’échange avec Sciences Po Strasbourg (accord Erasmus+ ou convention bilatérale) ou avec l’Université de Strasbourg (accord d’échange « toutes composantes », pour les universités hors Europe uniquement) : vous devez être nominé par votre université d’origine.
  • Votre université d’origine n’a pas d’accord d’échange, ni avec Sciences Po Strasbourg, ni avec l’Université de Strasbourg : vous devrez vous acquitter de frais d’inscription de 1390€.
  • Le calendrier et la procédure de candidatures pour les prochaines sessions du Certificate of European Studies sont disponibles ici : 
  • 2022/23 Semestre 1
  • 2022/23 Semestre 2